findingsomethinglovely

Beauty lives all around us.

2011 in three words

Plan’s the man. I love a good plan around these parts- and boy, do I need a good one right about now.

This year is packed with many many commitments, some for work, some for university, some for personal and spiritual growth and others for the wellbeing of my little family and homestead. I’m excited for the growth this year will bring- but just a little terrified at the steps we are taking.

If I could boil my plan down to three simple words (thanks to Chris Brogan) they would have to be:

Love. Enjoy. Streamline.

Love:

First and foremost, this new year will be able being with those I love and care about. With so few hours in the day, I believe it is important to invest in those around you right now. Not on Saturday, not after the laundry, but right now. Sometimes that looks like a sister date. Sometimes it sounds like a phone call. But always, it focuses on love and blessings.

Enjoy:

Saying ‘Yes’ to things instead of hunkering on the sofa to ‘relax’. Enjoy purposeful relaxation. Enjoy crafting and making beautiful things. Enjoy making mistakes. Enjoy trying something new and scary. Enjoy daily exercise.

Say yes to life and enjoy more beauty in everyday than in dreamland.

The consequences are fairly high. 🙂 That’s right. I went there.

Streamline:

When it comes down to it- there are a lot of things that happen to run a healthy household- even without children. And there are many things that we do that A. don’t benefit us or B. don’t bless those around us. Those things have got to go! Out with the clutter, in with the homemade bread. Out with the takeout and fast food, in with a clean kitchen ready for gourmet cooking (mac and cheese anyone?). I’ve got a plan to use less chemicals and more hot water. It is all about habits. Time to create some good ones.

I know, I know. These are not goals. They are not going to help me lose 10 pounds or give me a boost in my career. They will, however, give me the direction forward.

And going forward is so much better than staying put (and letting flies lie on my eye).

What words do you envision for life in 2011?

Leave a Reply

