findingsomethinglovely

Beauty lives all around us.

DIY- Glittering Lightscape

When I saw this post on Apartment Therapy I was immediately in love.

(via Apartment Therapy)

Oh! How amazing is the hardware on the credenza, the wallpaper on the walls and the textured tile on the floor!  But it was the lightscape that I adored more than all. The site lacked decent instructions on how to construct a lightscape like this so after a few trial and error attempts, I thought it would be fun to put together a quick tutorial.

Supplies

– One large stretched canvas. For this project, I recommend the type that is stretched over the wooden frame. I chose to get the primed canvas too. My theory is that the primer helped keep the edges from fraying excessively.If you wish to paint the background you may do so now- just be sure your paint has dried several days before continuing

– 100-200 Fairy lights or Christmas lights. I worked with two strands of 100. Choose these lights carefully. First I tried the micro bulbs but found that the connection between the lights was terrible and I kept blowing the strand. This is not ideal! Eventually I landed on the long traditional ‘fairy’ bulbs and these worked better (although I preferred the glow of the micro bulbs, the risk of fire and death just didn’t make up for it 🙂 )

– A pencil and a pen or other pointy object with the approximate diameter of the glass part of your bulbs

Method

Keeping note of how many bulbs you want to use, draw out your pattern. I wanted my bursts to look like explosions of joy so I just put dots where I felt it left balance. Don’t forget about under the wooden frame too! That area is very visible from the front but difficult to push bulbs into- practice balance here! It would also help if you ensured there was a feasible way to maneuver the bulbs around the holes.

After drawing my pattern, I started at the top middle of my canvas and poked three holes at a time with my pen. Go slowly to avoid making tears or splits in the canvas. Using the bulb in the middle of your (unplugged) strand, carefully insert the glass portion of the bulb into the hole. It should fit tightly- but if you are concerned, white craft glue smeared around the base will hold that sucker in place. Place all three bulbs in the holes and continue to the next three holes. I found that operating in a zigzag pattern left me with the best maneuverability to get the lights into the holes without stretching the cords or the canvas.Plan the use of the bulbs so that the final bulb would be the last bulb on the strand nearest to the plug. Any leftover bulbs can be strung loosely around the anchored bulbs for additional glow.  If you are having a hard time pocking the holes, I found the best results when I was sitting on the chair without a table. The canvas balanced on my legs and I could poke and insert away without things getting pear-shaped.

Once the glue has dried thoroughly, prop your lightscape up and plug-‘er in!

(Excuse the poor picture from my Blackberry)


What do you think?

Leave a Reply

